Have you been arrested for a DWI (driving while intoxicated) offense in San Antonio or the surrounding communities? If so, it’s important to hire a DWI attorney as soon as possible. Driving while intoxicated means operating a motor vehicle without the normal use of facilities due to impairment from drugs and/or alcohol. In the state of Texas, a person is legally intoxicated and can be arrested and charged with DWI with a .08 blood alcohol concentration. Also, whether it’s the driver or a passenger, a fine up to $500 can be administered if there is an open alcohol container in a vehicle. A DWI attorney in Texas fully understands the laws involving DWI in Texas.
What are the types of DWIs in Texas and their associated penalties?
A DUI lawyer can fully explain the penalties associated with your DWI charge in Texas. Here are some examples of DWI charges in the state.
- DWI with a child passenger is one offense that is charged with child endangerment for driving while intoxicated with passengers younger than 15 years old in the vehicle. It is punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, up to two years in jail, and the loss of one’s Texas driver’s license for 180 days.
- DWI First Offense, less than .15, can lead to up to $2,000 in fines, 3-180 days in jail, a one-year suspension of the license, community service and/or a substance abuse treatment program. For charges greater than .15 can lead to fines of up to $4,000.
- Second Offense DWI Charges include 30 days to a year in jail, two-year suspension of a license, up to $4,000 in fines, community service, and a possible substance abuse treatment program requirement.
Call to Talk to a DWI Attorney In San Antonio Today
Not every DWI case is the same which makes it important to hire legal representation that can investigate your case for possible defenses. No matter what your situation is, you need legal representation during this difficult time. To have a free consultation with Derek W. Emmons, a DUI lawyer, today, call (210) 702-3054.