Have you or a loved one been arrested for a DWI offense in San Antonio? If so, it’s important to hire a DWI attorney in San Antonio such as Derek W. Emmons quickly. Driving while intoxicated indicates that an individual was operating a motor vehicle while impaired from drugs and/or alcohol. In Texas, someone is legally intoxicated and can be arrested and charged with this offense with a .08 blood alcohol concentration (BAC). A DWI attorney in San Antonio Texas such as Derek W. Emmons fully understands all laws associated with DWI in Texas.
Types of DWIs and Penalties in Texas
Here are some possible DWI charges in Texas. The first is DWI with a child passenger. This offense is charged along with child endangerment for driving while intoxicated with passengers who are younger than 15 in the vehicle. This charge is punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, up to two years in county jail and the loss of one’s license for up to 180 days.
Another DWI is known as First Offense Less than .15. This charge can lead up to $2,000 in fines, from 3 to 180 days in county jail, one-year license suspension, community service requirements and/or a substance abuse treatment program admission. For charges that are more than .15, fines can be up to $4,000.
The next charge is a Second Offense DWI, which can mean 30 days to one year in county jail, a two-year suspension of a license, up to $4,000 in fines, possible substance abuse treatment program or community service requirements.
Speak to a DWI Attorney in San Antonio Today
It’s important to understand that not every DWI case in Texas is the same. This is why it’s important to contact a DWI attorney in San Antonio such as Derek W. Emmons for professional legal help. He has experience investigating cases like yours and finding possible defenses to get reduced or dropped charges. To schedule a free consultation with a DWI attorney today, call his law office at (210) 702-3054.